Rated 2 out of 5 by from Insurance purchasing review I can’t yet comment on the product as thankfully I haven’t had to use it. However, your website is DIRE. It crashed twice, took my payment but didn’t notify us of having the policy for more than 24 hours and I have yet to be able to access it to ‘create my account’ to see my policy documents.
Date published: 2019-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Simple off the shelf package I liked that you just needed to chose the level of cover and say where and when the wedding was rather than have to chose from oats of options
Date published: 2018-10-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good coverage, bad website I’m happy with the actual insurance, but it was very difficult to purchase due to website problems. Allegedly, there was some maintenance being done on the site, resulting in credit cards not being accepted. Each time I rang to sort this out, I was told it would be working again ‘tomorrow’. After three days it was still not working, so I was offered a call back to do it over the phone - between 0800 and 0830 on the Monday morning; this call finally materialised at about 1630.....by which time I’d finally bought it online.
Date published: 2018-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Insurance Provided exactly what I needed for our wedding in Europe. Clear and understable T&Cs. No hidden cost or fees.
Date published: 2018-09-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awful Experience I purchased John Lewis wedding insurance online. A website error duplicated the transaction and gave me two policies, charging my card twice. I identified the error and contacted John Lewis. Despite JL cancelling the duplicate policy they were unable to give me a refund as they 'could not find' the transaction ID number, it was then 'out of their hands' and with the accounting department - (This is after I had provided my bank statements to give objective proof that they had taken both payments.) It took around 14 days for the transaction to be 'found' by John Lewis - then they could only give me a refund via cheque - which eventually came after the wedding. Extremely poor systems in place and not what you would expect from a John Lewis product. The staff were friendly and tried to help with the problem, but could not and were also clearly frustrated with the situation.
Date published: 2018-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really good product Great coverage, easy to use website! Efficient and painless process.
Date published: 2018-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple process The process of taking out cover was simple, and surprisingly inexpensive, cover is good and covers a full range of possibilities
Date published: 2018-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wedding insurance Good produce - asked a question about whether it covered deployment of service personnel and was quickly answered.
Date published: 2018-07-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Exactly what we needed We bought this to have some peace of mind if something was to happen. We were very happy with how clear the choices/options were presented and we were able to choose the right amount of cover we may need.
Date published: 2018-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Covers everything John Lewis were very helpful as their system was easy to use in order to find the right insurance for me and they extended the marquee cover by a couple of days free of charge to ensure I was insured for the full duration of the marquee's hire, beyond the standard four days of their policy. One considerable issue, which is reflected in the customer experience rating, is that the website is currently not loading properly in the wedding insurance portal so I can't sign in and access my documents. This needs to be resolved.
Date published: 2018-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick, easy with various levels of cover I bought this insurance having looked at the alternatives. JL insurance is comprehensive and easy to understand. I telephoned first to make sure that I understood everything and it couldn’t have been simpler. I just hope in the very unlikely event something goes wrong, it’s as simple to claim!!
Date published: 2018-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product We purchased this insurance to protect our wedding against the unknown. As a samesex couple what was amazing to us was that it referred to us a partner 1 and partner 2 not husband and wife as per most other insurers. Thank you John Lewis for this.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Blind I purchased what I think is quite a comprehensive wedding insurance from yourselves however since paying for it I have not been able to view it online due to maintenance issues. It has been at least a few weeks and still no joy. I also opted to be sent a hard copy of the documents but alas that has not been sent. Whilst I appreciate administration can slip John Lewis has been quick enough to take my money yet not follow up with their communication. I don’t normally leave poor reviews but my expectation of what is normally a great company was higher than what has been delivered.
Date published: 2018-04-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor online experience I made several attempts to purchase this insurance online via website and on each occasion I experienced problems at the paying stage. I therefore rang Customer Services and purchased the insurance over the phone, documents were supposed to follow by email. This never happened. After a week I rang Customer Services again to report this and they agreed to send out documents in post as their email services were having problems. I am still waiting for them to appear. Am unimpressed by John Lewis systems and procedures.
Date published: 2018-03-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great insurance I found this insurance really good and suited our wedding budget and covered everything we needed.
Date published: 2018-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Necessary wedding insurance , just in case ! Wedding booked now for ceremony in Sept 2018. Hope we don’t have to claim on it , but that is what any insurance is for.
Date published: 2018-01-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Misleading I bought this at the start of wedding planning, prior to purchasing/confirming any vendors/venues etc., completed the data and it was stated £80. It was only when I had purchased the insurance that it was made clear that this was a per annum cost. Had I known this I would have sourced alternative quotes that offer a one-off price
Date published: 2018-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wedding Insurance It was easy to determine the appropriate cover needed
Date published: 2018-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Insurance - Wedding Very easy , pain free , straight forward a pleasure to sort out .
Date published: 2017-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pre-insurance queries answered promptly & fully. I had to discuss two matters with the team, by e-mail, prior to taking out the policy. They were answered promptly & fully. Well done.
Date published: 2017-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to understand Plenty of choices. Easy to understand what level of cover you need and quick to buy.
Date published: 2017-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wedding insurance Brought it just to safeguard ourselves as our wedding isn't until 2019
Date published: 2017-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy to have insurance from a trusted source Really straightforward, easy to understand insurance. Felt comfortable and confident with John Lewis.
Date published: 2017-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great insurance Great price and offers just what we needed. Very easy and quick to do.
Date published: 2017-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A reasonable ammount to pay for the cover we requi The insurance will give me peace of mint should anything unwanted happen.
Date published: 2017-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Service I brought this Wedding Insurance few years ago but due to loosing someone close we had to cancel the wedding. We have started to organize our Wedding again and as I had a really great experience last time we have decided to take the same insurance again.
Date published: 2017-08-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wedding insurance Bought it online as it was suggested by my broker Very few sites have this cost level. I have not had to make a claim yet so Im unsure how good it is !
Date published: 2017-08-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good insurance Bought wedding insurance, they were the only ones to cover the 5m public liability that we needed. Simple to set up, and clear. Only thing is when you review your documents it just says what level cover you have and not what is included.
Date published: 2017-08-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No confirmation received I bought this a week ago and have received no confirmation, having called today, I am told documents can't be re-emailed if they weren't received! So I am waiting for postal documents, really poor to not be able to email!
Date published: 2017-07-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The cover is great however... The cover we bought is great but we received no postal confirmation as requested
Date published: 2017-07-15
  • y_2019, m_9, d_18, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_126
  • loc_en_GB, sid_WEDDING_Purchase_LEVEL_1, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_jlpfinance
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.2.0.4
  • getReviews, method:CLOUD, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

John Lewis Finance and John Lewis Insurance are trading names of John Lewis plc. The John Lewis Registered office address is: 171 Victoria Street, London, SW1E 5NN. Registered in England and Wales No. 233462.

John Lewis plc is an appointed representative (Financial Conduct Authority No. 416011) of Royal & Sun Alliance Insurance plc. John Lewis Wedding Insurance is underwritten by Royal & Sun Alliance Insurance plc (No. 93792). Registered in England and Wales at St. Mark's Court, Chart Way, Horsham, West Sussex, RH12 1XL. Authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority and the Prudential Regulation Authority (Financial Services Register No. 202323).

Copyright © John Lewis Partnership
Back to top
0