Rated 1 out of 5 by from Appalling I bought the wedding insurance online, at the payment part it said something like payment error, i thought ahh thats annoying ill pay again on my work computer tomorrow....then i noticed that the £60 had been taken from my account so i didnt purchase again, i didn’t receive a confirmation email at all, i havn’t even got my policy documents! I rang a couple of days after i purchased and a lady said id get the docs emailed to me within 7 days, i think its been about 2 months now, absolutely awful services
Date published: 2019-08-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No info sent to me I bought the insurance about 9 days ago they sent me a link for creating an account but the link doesn’t work so I rang up and the said they will email the insurance stuff over it will take 24 hours. 5 days later still not heard anything
Date published: 2019-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comprehensive I chose John Lewis for wedding insurance after reading some horror stories about other firms not paying out. I chose it mostly because the supplier failure can be a failure to meet the terms of the contract, not just a financial failure, as this seems the more likely scenario. Applying online was very straight forward. There were some glitches when trying to create an account as there seemed to be site maintenance but this didn't affect getting the insurance and I was able to access my account after the maintenance was done. I've not made a claim - and hopefully won't have to - but so far my experience has been very positive.
Date published: 2019-08-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Insurance purchasing review I can’t yet comment on the product as thankfully I haven’t had to use it. However, your website is DIRE. It crashed twice, took my payment but didn’t notify us of having the policy for more than 24 hours and I have yet to be able to access it to ‘create my account’ to see my policy documents.
Date published: 2019-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Simple off the shelf package I liked that you just needed to chose the level of cover and say where and when the wedding was rather than have to chose from oats of options
Date published: 2018-10-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good coverage, bad website I’m happy with the actual insurance, but it was very difficult to purchase due to website problems. Allegedly, there was some maintenance being done on the site, resulting in credit cards not being accepted. Each time I rang to sort this out, I was told it would be working again ‘tomorrow’. After three days it was still not working, so I was offered a call back to do it over the phone - between 0800 and 0830 on the Monday morning; this call finally materialised at about 1630.....by which time I’d finally bought it online.
Date published: 2018-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Insurance Provided exactly what I needed for our wedding in Europe. Clear and understable T&Cs. No hidden cost or fees.
Date published: 2018-09-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awful Experience I purchased John Lewis wedding insurance online. A website error duplicated the transaction and gave me two policies, charging my card twice. I identified the error and contacted John Lewis. Despite JL cancelling the duplicate policy they were unable to give me a refund as they 'could not find' the transaction ID number, it was then 'out of their hands' and with the accounting department - (This is after I had provided my bank statements to give objective proof that they had taken both payments.) It took around 14 days for the transaction to be 'found' by John Lewis - then they could only give me a refund via cheque - which eventually came after the wedding. Extremely poor systems in place and not what you would expect from a John Lewis product. The staff were friendly and tried to help with the problem, but could not and were also clearly frustrated with the situation.
Date published: 2018-08-21
  • y_2019, m_8, d_22, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_121
  • loc_en_GB, sid_WEDDING_Purchase_LEVEL_1, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_jlpfinance
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.2.0.4
  • getReviews, method:CLOUD, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

John Lewis Finance and John Lewis Insurance are trading names of John Lewis plc. The John Lewis Registered office address is: 171 Victoria Street, London, SW1E 5NN. Registered in England and Wales No. 233462.

John Lewis plc is an appointed representative (Financial Conduct Authority No. 416011) of Royal & Sun Alliance Insurance plc. John Lewis Wedding Insurance is underwritten by Royal & Sun Alliance Insurance plc (No. 93792). Registered in England and Wales at St. Mark's Court, Chart Way, Horsham, West Sussex, RH12 1XL. Authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority and the Prudential Regulation Authority (Financial Services Register No. 202323).

Copyright © John Lewis Partnership
Back to top
0